Todd's Blog


Three Little Words

It happened again. Turbulent storms pushed their way through middle Tennessee with torrential rains, deafening thunder and dramatic lightning.

I love storms but my dog doesn’t. She paces back and forth, hides under tables and my keyboard (think music not computer) and sometimes she even drinks from the toilet if we forget to put the seat down. I know that’s gross but humans have peculiar ways of dealing with stress, too. Last night as our beautiful Lab/Husky paced the floor I tried to calm her. I petted her gently and spoke in a calm, reassuring voice. I told her everything was going to be alright. She didn’t believe me. Actually, she had no idea what I was saying. She was completely focused on the violent thunder and lightning. Her tail, which normally wags with happy-go-lucky delight, was pointed straight down as she paced and panted. I wanted so badly to calm her but I couldn’t get through to her. I knew everything was going to be okay but I had absolutely no way of conveying that truth. It was sad. I was sad.

Then it hit me. Could this be how God feels toward us at times? He’s promised to take care of us and meet our needs. He’s promised to never leave us or forsake us. He’s promised to finish the work he began in us. But we can only hear the thunder and see the lightning. We’re focused on what the checkbook or the evening news or the doctor is telling us, shouting at us. Sometimes, many times, the voices are also internal.

“It’s helpless.”

“It’s hopeless.”

You’re hopeless.”

But it’s all lies. He’s standing there waiting and wanting to reassure us, calm us, quiet our hearts. He wants to give us a peace that passes all understanding. If only we would turn to him. If only we would ask. If only we would receive. But on we go in our struggle and stress. We pace, we worry, we fret. We listen to the voices, but not his voice. If only we would tune everything out we would hear him. We’d hear that still, small voice whisper three simple words.

Peace, be still.

Psalm 46:10
Mark 4:39
Romans 8:31-32
Philippians 1:6
Philippians 4:6-7

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Very well made points which I could relate to especially since our little hotdog was totally out of his head.
I really need to listen to Him more. Thanks for the reminder.

Comment by Melinda Lancaster

Todd, you’re so right! My lab just was bitten by a snake and is in the doggie hospital. As you can imagine, she’s probably miserable not only because of the bite, but because she can’t tell us what’s wrong and get our help. And we can’t reassure her that we’re getting her the help she needs. Right now she probably feels abandoned by us because she’s in the hospital, but that’s the best place for her.

We don’t know most of the time what is going on in our own lives and that God is doing exactly the best thing for us. We can’t communicate well, and we don’t always know that He knows what’s going on. We feel abandoned and lost.

The communication gap really goes both ways, and were it not for God’s Word, we wouldn’t have a clue what He’s up to.

I’m just so glad God is in control and I pray that I’ll be more and more aware of it all the time.

Comment by Kathryn C




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

